Change in Life

Posted: May 28, 2014 in Uncategorized

As I sit here and listen to the birds chirping around me and the traffic go by behind my house, I can’t help but think, wow, I’m a lucky guy.

Two years ago if you would have told me that I would be living in Oklahoma, I would think you were crazy. I was enjoying my job at Emporia Middle School. I saw myself staying in that building for many years to come.

Then I met someone who ended up taking a job at Oklahoma State University, and now here I sit. Typing up a blog post and looking for a job.

First, I’m really excited about his move. It gives me a chance to branch out and get to know a little more about the state that was just a two hours south. It’s a state that is just a little over 100 years old, where the state I grew up in is a little over 150. I’m now in a state that has red dirt. I’m now in a state that everyone stretches out the first “O” when they say the name. (Ok, not everyone, just non-Oklahoman’s do that)

My biggest fear though, is not finding a teaching job before the start of the school year. Yes, I’ve been a substitute teacher before, and I enjoyed it, but the pay isn’t as much. Yes, I have worked outside of the classroom before, but I soon learned that while enjoying it, I didn’t have the drive that I do in teaching.

Throughout this past school year I was thinking about stepping back into the elementary classroom. I remember when I taught fourth grade in McPherson, KS. Boy was I dumb. I did have a class website and I had learned how to Podcast, making me ahead of the curve. However, in the classroom and knowing how to teach cross-curriculum, I was pretty dumb.

Thanks to the experience of teaching at Turning Point Learning Center and working under Ginger Lewman, I learned how to bring those things together. I also learned that I don’t have to be the one to always bring those subjects together, students can assist as well.

I’m excited about getting back into the elementary classroom and try all the new things that I’ve learned. I also will continue to learn from my PLN on Twitter and my new #oklaed friends. I know that is so much more to learn.

One thing I will keep though, is the challenging my students to reading 100,000 minutes outside of the school day. When my students did that in the 2007-2008 school year, they were ecstatic! I’ll share that information tomorrow.

Well, here’s to applying for jobs and hoping the right one shows up!

Comments
  1. […] little over a year ago, I moved to Oklahoma. I didn’t know many educators in the state and had a rough time finding a […]

Leave a Reply

