Where’s the Passion?

Posted: July 7, 2014 in Uncategorized

Today I started reading “Teach Like a Pirate” by Dave Burgess. I’ve heard so many great things about this book and I’m ready to jump into another school year. In the first chapter called “Passions”, Dave asks us to do some reflecting and answer some questions. He told us to write them down, so I’ve decided to share my answers here.

Content Passions
Within your subject matter, what are you passionate about teaching?
Well, I LOVe teaching scatter plots and data mining. There is so much that you can do with data and getting into sharing with students ways to discover the world with numbers is awesome!

Profession Passion
Within your profession but not specific to your subject matter, what are you passionate about?
I love the connections that I make with students. I have a passion to see students find new information and share it with others. I also enjoy talking with other educators and sharing what is going on inside each of our classrooms.

Leave a Reply

