Another School Year Approaches

Posted: July 24, 2014 in Uncategorized

This post is a little overdue. I want to apologize to my PLN for not sharing the information earlier.

I have taken a 6th grade math position in Enid, OK this next year. I’m excited about the drop to a lower grade. However, it will be a little challenging. The biggest change for me will be remembering that these kids will be coming from a self-contained classroom. I know it won’t be too bad, but gotta remember that at the beginning of the year there is a learning curve.

A challenge that I faced was trying to get certified in Oklahoma. In fact, I’m still waiting on the actual certificate. I encourage anyone changing states to just call the state department of education and find out exactly what all you need to do and where to send everything. I learned in this process that test scores go to a separate place than the rest of the certification paperwork in Oklahoma.

I also want to encourage all pre-service teachers to KEEP YOUR TEST SCORES! I did not keep mine from 2004 because I thought that: A) I would teach in Kansas and B) ETS would keep my scores for me. Well, A) We’re not in Kansas anymore, Toto, and B) ETS only keeps them on file for 10 years. Yup, I’ve been out of school for 10 years. Luckily my Alma Mater had my scores, so all is good.

Again, I’m excited about my new adventure for this school year. It will be a new challenge learning standards (Oklahoma repealed Common Core) and everything I need to do to prepare students. I also will have an hour drive (one way) each day to get to work. I”m excited to listen to podcasts (if I can figure out how to get them on my phone) and the planning time that I can have while driving. Thinking is what I need most of all.

With that, if anyone is wanting to have great education conversations once in awhile via Voxer at 6:15 am (CDT), I will gladly talk with you. @MrP_tchr is my name on Voxer, Twitter, and Instagram.

Comments
  1. nickwholmes says:

    You mean you want to listen to podcasts..not blog posts?

  2. Damian says:

    Congratulations on the new job! I really like Doggcatcher as a podcast app for Android. I also have an hour one-way commute, and in addition to podcasts, I’ve started downloading audiobooks from my local library (if yours doesn’t have one, try Audible.com); if I’m regular about listening, I can get through a decent-sized book in 1-2 weeks worth of commutes.

  3. GeGe says:

    Congratulations on your new adventure! Welcome to the wonderful world of commuting! I too, have an hour drive to work every day but you know, it is great because I get to have time to reflect on my day while on the way home, time to think about the day ahead on my way to work, and listen to talk radio:)

    *I haven’t blogged in awhile because I’ve been working on my M.A. Educational Technology thesis this summer. I’m hoping to start blogging again soon.

Leave a Reply

