Hidden Feelings

Posted: August 12, 2014 in Uncategorized

Last night after dinner I sat down and started going through my Twitter feed. It wasn’t long until I saw several Tweets remembering the great actor Robin Williams. I opened pictures and memes with several of his lines. I also opened news stories to see how he passed. What I found is that it was an apparent suicide. I know that the autopsy is today so we don’t know the exact cause, however, it really hits home.

I have battled with depression and at times it was not good at all. It’s easy to play off the depression and to appear happy with yourself. I don’t write this as a be worried for me though. I write this as a teacher.

Building relationships is important. Knowing your students and having conversations is key. Students may seem “normal”, but if you really know the student and have built a relationship, then it is easier for them to be open with you and talk.

As you start this school year, get to know your students. Be there for them when they need you. Be there when they don’t need you, but you just want to sit and visit with them. Show your students that you care.

We all are struggling with the loss of a great actor, but we all will move on quickly. I didn’t know Robin Williams personally, but I feel I really knew him through the screen. However, did I really know him? I didn’t know he was dealing with depression and had been in and out of rehab lately. We are dealing with the loss of an actor, but his family is dealing with the loss of a father, husband, son, family member. His last Instagram photo is with his daughter as a child.

If you or someone you know is considering suicide, please contact the National Suicide Prevention Lifeline at 1-800-273-TALK (8255).

RIP Robin Williams

Comments

Leave a Reply

