EPS – IT 2014

Posted: August 14, 2014 in Uncategorized
staff

Longfellow MS staff

Today was an excellent day for Enid Public Schools. Our district tech department put on a wonderful conference for the staff to learn from each other about some great ways to involve technology in the classroom.

Here was my day:

First, I since I’m new to the district I had a meeting at the district office to get signed up for benefits, so I missed the opening session and went and sat outside my first session room waiting. In the first break out session I went to BYOD (Bring Your Own Device).

The thing I really enjoyed about this BYOD session was that it was led by students. Students from Waller Middle School did an excellent job sharing why having their own devices in the classroom is helpful and educational. One of my favorite lines was when they told the story that many teachers ask them if there is a program for them to be able to see what the students are looking at on their phones. The student response? “Yes, it’s called get up out of your seat and walk around the room talking with students.” It is so true. Don’t be afraid of allowing students to use their devices and then you can trust they are on task.

In the second session I attended they shared about www.donorschoose.org. It is a great site where teachers can make a proposal to try and raise money for items in your classroom. It sounds great! However, I just have some worries that it’s a little bit of a popularity contest or it is all in who you know. If you are in a low income area, trying to get your area to donate to raise the money seems like it would be difficult. Then, schools that are in higher income areas can have families donating to raise the funds. I don’t know. It looks great, I’m just not sure about it all.

For lunch I ran to Sonic then returned to the school to relax and visit with others. It was great to sit and talk with my new school family and share what I know and also learn from them. They are a great group of people and I feel very comfortable with them and enjoy our conversations.

After lunch I attended a session over Haiku Deck. Our district now had iPads in all of the teacher’s hands, which is great! I knew a little about Haiku Deck, but today I found out that you can add text and then the app will look for pictures for you. It’s a great presentation tool that I am going to be using this year!

I then made my way back to the food court and sat with some tech people and chatted about technology. Once again, some great learning. I then had a chance to sit and visit with the instructional strategists for the district and get to know them. Making connections and know who you can get help from is the key to all school districts that I wish more teachers would grasp and use.

celebrate

LMS teachers celebrating the Chrome Book cart win!

The final session was everyone coming together for some door prizes. There are people being sent to ISTE and the state tech conference. The big items today were a cart of Chrome Books to a building. We had to apply and sign up for a chance to win. My building Longfellow Middle School was the building to win the cart! We are all pumped to getting these and to have students learning, creating and sharing on the devices.

Then during the day there was a contest for an iPad Mini to be given to the person with the best tweet from the day. What does that mean? I don’t know. However, I tweeted the most (I may have an addiction) and I ended up winning the iPad Mini.

My plans for the device is to have it in my room for students to use during class. It is not my device, it is there. My classroom has a Twitter and Instagram account through my class mascot Gus the Emporia State Gorilla. Later in the school year I am going to allow a student to carry the iPad and tweet about their day. This will allow their parents to start to see what is happening during the day.

Today was just another reason that I am just excited to be a part of Enid Public Schools and working at Longfellow Middle School. It is going to be a great school year!

LONGFELLOW PRIDE!!!

Leave a Reply

