First Day Wonders

Posted: August 19, 2014 in Uncategorized

Starting another year. I love it! If you’ve been following my blog, you know that I am at a new school. I’m teaching 6th graders though! They are completely different than 8th graders, but it was a great day!

Looking out my window before school.

When I arrived at school this morning, there were students already gathering at the front doors. I walked in and it was great to see all the teachers running around getting their final things ready to go.

About 5 minutes before the doors opened, I took a picture of everyone gathered around. I love being able to see out front and see the students arriving. It energizes me!

As students entered the building, the 6th graders were everywhere. Some knew where they were going, others just looked at adults waiting for instructions. After announcing to go to Advisory, students pulled out their schedules and found their way.

Each class period was great meeting the kids and starting to learn their names. Yes, starting to learn them. This year is going to be my biggest challenge yet of learning names. I have around 150 students in 6 classes to learn. It’s going to be crazy, but I know that I can do this! My goal is to have their names down by Friday! Of course I’ll then forget many by Monday. My real goal is September 1, but I’m sure I can get them down before then.

Plan Time

At 10:29, I was golden! It was my plan time and I could finally use the bathroom! Non-teachers don’t understand the struggle we go through trying to retrain our bladders on when “bathroom time” is. I’m sure you didn’t want to read about this, but it’s what we do!

After using the restroom I was back in my room getting things planned for tomorrow and the following days. I did take a little time to have a drink or two of coffee though. I was able to get a few things done and go to the office to find out about taking students to lunch.

Lunch – another first day adventure. We all remember how great the lunch line goes in March and April. However, the first day with kids in a new building is never smooth. They have to learn where to line up, how to get their food, how to punch in their ID number to pay and so many other things. As a 6th grade teacher, I want to apologize to our 7th and 8th graders and let them know that we will get this down soon and you won’t have to wait!

The afternoon went smoothly and next thing you knew it was 3:30 and students were leaving. After about a 3 minute delay and then me remembering, I headed outside for duty. Watching students leave is always exciting. You know students are ready to get out of there, but you also know a few are excited to get home and share with their parents about the day. (Ok, so maybe that second part is a teacher dream, but if you don’t dream you don’t live.)

We survived the first day.

As I went back inside I found my colleague Cathy Benge (@CathyBenge1, Whole Brain Teaching Intern) and took a photo. The first day is always exhausting. Teaching your body how to stand, move, talk, oh yes, I had to use the restroom again. It does wear you out. In about a month, I know I’ll be back in the swing of things and I’ll be loving every minute of it!

How was your first day?

Leave a Reply

