When I’m gone. . . . (Day 6 of 25 Days of School Christmas Season)

Posted: November 19, 2014 in Uncategorized

Today was the second school day that I have missed this school year. As a math teacher, it’s tough to be gone because it’s not easy for many to step into a math classroom and be able to successfully teach the content. That’s why I always do what I can to find a good substitute and treat them well!

First, I contact the substitute in advance if possible. By doing this I can allow the substitute to prepare their mindset for what they will be teaching. The year that I was a substitute, I would always try to find out ahead of time what I would be doing so that I could be confident that day.

I also make sure that I leave my number in case they have questions. Which I get things like today.

The substitute sent me a text stating that my first hour was having difficulty understanding a couple of answers that I gave on the key. She sent me a picture and I noticed that I had made a mistake on one of them. It also allowed me to call her back and discuss why the answer is the answer on the other problem.

I hope that the next two days go great while I enjoy the 2 days of the conference down here in Houston.

Leave a Reply

