Reflection of NCTM Regional Conference (Day 8 of 25 Days of School in the Christmas Season)

Posted: November 23, 2014 in Uncategorized

I need to start out this post with an apology. This post was to be written on Friday, since that was day 8 of the 25 days of Christmas. However, due to dinner with friends and traveling home, I wasn’t able to write until now.

This past week I travelled to Houston, TX for the National Council of Teachers of Mathematics Regional Conference. This was the first time that I have been to an NCTM event. I was excited to be going and having the chance to learn from great mathematic leaders.

This conference was also the first time that I was going to a conference in many years that I didn’t know anyone who was going to be there. I was able to start following some new people on Twitter and was also followed by others, but I never really got to know anyone. However, it allowed me to sit and listen to learn from others and not just give my input on things.

There were some frustrations that I had encountered. I feel that when you attend a conference, there should be good WIFI that you do not have to pay for. This past week President Obama vowed to get students better connected in schools. Why is internet such a thing now that it has to be expensive? I’m sure there are ways to allow everyone to be better connected without the high price tag. Even in my hotel it was $15/day to be connected. WHY?!?!?

The main things that I took out of this conference is:

  1. Not everything needs to have a grade. We need to have more feedback on student work.
  2. Drill and kill of 20+ problems is not needed if we are giving more feedback and less grades.
  3. We need to talk with companies about how they incorporate math and formulas to better improve their jobs. This would be helpful in sharing with students what is in the “real world”.
  4. I have some great resources to share with teachers in my school/district.
  5. I have some reading to do over the next few breaks.

What are some great things that you learned at a recent conference that you have attended?

Comments
  1. […] and not just ones who are in your classroom at that moment. Things have been going well. I went to NCTM Regional Conference in Houston and shared with everyone about the great things I […]

Leave a Reply

