Too Much Testing? (Day 15 of 25 Days of School in the Christmas Season)

Posted: December 6, 2014 in Uncategorized

We hear a lot about how there is too much testing.

We test students too much.

They never have time to discover and learn because they need tested.

How can they show what they know when they never have time to learn?

Well, I feel that some testing is good.

This past week my students took the STAR Math Assessment (What does STAR stand for?) Students took the assessment back in September, so after taking it this week we could see growth in students. I have always enjoyed assessments like this because I have the opportunity to sit and visit with students about their scores. When you see students get excited about their growth, they start to understand learning. They want to strive and do better.

These scores also allow me to have good conversations with students who aren’t improving on how we can help them improve. Sometimes the conversation leads to how they participate, or not, in class. We discuss ways to help them be more successful so that the next time we take this assessment we can see improvement.

Taking these assessments also allows me to see which students may not be the best test takers. I’m not a good test taker. I have to take steps to make sure I stay calm and focus and go back over my answers. With these assessments I can see which students are similar to me so I can start to help them understand how to focus and relax during a test. These tests are not so high stakes as the state assessments, so I need to use these to help them know how to approach the state assessments be more successful.

How do you feel about assessments? How do you use them?

Comments
  1. Matt says:

    Similar to you, I believe tests have a role in the classroom, although that role depends on how the test is used. I find classroom assessments more beneficial when the data can help guide instructional decisions and the feedback is immediate. I think student reflection after the test can be a powerful tool and show growth over time. This is where having 1:1 conversations with students can reveal understandings. Utilizing the results to help students can prove worthwhile throughout the year.

    On the other hand, high-stakes yearly assessments rarely provide opportunities for student feedback and improvement. These types of assessments can have a negative connotation, especially if they are used to evaluate teacher performance. Thanks for the post.

Leave a Reply

