Semester Project Final (Day 16 of 25 Days of School in the Christmas Season)

Posted: December 8, 2014 in Uncategorized

Alright, so I think I’m ready for the project. This is the first time that I’m doing a project with this group of kids. (Yes, I know it’s late in the year for this. I need to get better at projects.)

This project is going to be guided because I’m not sure what they can do. I know that they can do a lot, but I feel that maybe I need to do a little guidance.

Well, my 6th grade math classes will be divided into groups of 2 or 3 (most are 3) and given one of the following problems.

With the problem, they will solve the problem and then build a presentation in order to teach the class how to solve their problem. This time around we will be looking for the following in the presentation.

  1. What do we know
  2. Identifying the variable
  3. Writing an equation
  4. Solving the equation
  5. Stating the answer as a sentence

I know that there is not much to this project, but I feel it is a good start to get these students to be working together and teaching their class the information.

In Pre-Algebra, they will be in groups and given one of the following problems.

These groups will need to make a presentation in order to share how they solved their problem. They will not have any expectations for what needs to be in the presentation because I want to see what they can create.

I’m excited about these presentations next week and I feel it will be a great start to the projects and sharing that we will be doing more of next semester.

Leave a Reply

