Trying a Little Gamification

Posted: January 3, 2015 in Uncategorized

After getting a few thoughts from Jody Maxey (@JMaxey1) on my Mission January 2015 that I am going to give my students, I made a few changes. Below is my updated handout for students.

I also made some badges for the students. As the finish each topic (which is aligned to a standard) they will receive the corresponding badge. They may cut it out, color (if they choose), place their name on the back and place the badge on the wall.

Screen Shot 2015-01-02 at 10.54.24 PM

Screen Shot 2015-01-02 at 10.54.39 PM

Screen Shot 2015-01-02 at 10.54.52 PM
I like the thought of students not having the names on the front, because I feel too many would be looking to see who has the most. The point of the assignment is not to be the first, but to be able to complete the mission successfully. Since names will be on the back and each one is colored by the student, individuals will know which is theirs and that is all that matters.

I’m excited to try this with my students. I’ve never tried anything like this before. I know my students really enjoy playing games, so I hope this gets them excited to become better mathematicians.

Comments
  1. this is good! let me know how it goes!

  2. […] Mission January 2015… on Trying a Little Gamificat… […]

  3. […] had many ask recently how my Mission: January 2015 was going. I’ve really had to adjust the calendar and the deadline. Many of my students […]

Leave a Reply

