One Word

Posted: January 4, 2015 in Uncategorized

Sitting here in front of the television on the last evening before returning to school. It’s always great getting ready to head back to school. The excitement of what you have planned for a fresh start is wonderful!

I’ve been reading a lot of posts about starting a new year with a word to focus on. First, I don’t see January 1 as a fresh start. I’ve been teaching enough years now (yes, this is my 10th year) that I see August as the true start of my year. January is just a refresh and refocus time.

So that’s my one word for 2015.

Refresh.

We need to take the chance to relax and take that breath to refresh our thinking. How often do you hit the refresh button on your browser when trying to get something to load? I know I hit that refresh button often.

We need to refresh in our daily lives as well. The nap at night (some call it a good night’s sleep) refreshes the body. However, you need to refresh your mind and remember exactly why we are doing what we are doing each day with our students.

Have you come up with one word yet? Do you need some ideas? Check out these other “One Word” posts.

Big Wave by Keith Peters (@principalkp)

One Word – Patience by Bill Powers (@MrPowersCMS)

After Publishing Update:

Week One Challenge from the Educator Learning Series by Todd Nesloney (@TechNinjaTodd)

Comments
  1. My one word for 2015 is Achieve. It combines the positive connotations of discipline and also focus, which is the word I used last year.

Leave a Reply

