Leading a Group

Posted: January 6, 2015 in Uncategorized

Back in November I had the opportunity to attend the National Council of Teachers of Mathematics Regional Conference in Houston. While I was there I bought the NCTM’s latest book Principles to Actions: Ensuring Mathematical Success for All. I enjoyed reading it, but I felt as if I wasn’t getting as much out of the book as I possibly could. So, I decided to start up a book study.

I’m excited to be leading this group of about a dozen mathematically minded people, but it’s crazy. I’m so excited to talk about the subject that I really enjoy and teach. But it’s crazy. I’ve never led something online before.

I have so many butterflies . . . . is that ok? I’m nervous. I know it’s going to be great though. Everyone who has responded seem really excited to share our love of mathematics and teaching as well.

So, in a few weeks, I know it’ll go well. I’m excited to reread (Yes, kids, you can reread books!) the book and dive a little bit deeper and to ask questions and answer questions.

Leave a Reply

