What Are You Wearing?

Posted: January 14, 2015 in Uncategorized

Since it’s the season of awards on television and the fact that this post has been stewing in my head for awhile, I’m gonna share it.

Jeans. They make me so mad!

I’m a teacher. I’m a professional. I dress as a professional. I may not wear a tie everyday, but I always try to look professional. I have seen situations throughout my many years where teachers ask me why certain students are well behaved for me, but they have troubles. I don’t say anything, but I see what I’m wearing compared to them. Is that the reason? I think it could be.

Yes, we have seen great CEOs of companies who wear jeans and it works. It’s their thing. However, it’s not for everyone.

Do I wear jeans each Friday and find reasons around spirit days so that I can wear jeans. They’re comfortable, yes, that’s why we enjoy them. So I’m not against wearing jeans at school.

What I don’t understand is why so many think that jeans = cruddy t-shirt wearing. It doesn’t make sense to me.

Today I saw a teacher wearing jeans and I told her how great she looked. She dressed up the jeans with a great top. In fact, she did it so well that at first I didn’t even realize that she was wearing jeans.

I would like to wear a shirt and tie with jeans (which I have before) on a regular basis, but I feel that many would look down on me or think I’m bending the rules by wearing jeans on a non-Friday.

Again, I’m just frustrated and I don’t understand why so many feel that wearing jeans means you become unprofessional. You can dress them up, so please do.

The main thing to remember is that we are in front of children who need role models, not just by actions but also by how we dress. Many students do not see adults dress very well, so let’s show them how you can dress appropriately.

What are you thoughts on jeans?

Comments
  1. Get a blazer – jeans + blazer = cool! And you won’t notice how “dressed down” you are.

  2. Eric Johnson says:

    I didn’t wear jeans for the first four years of my career. The first time I did, several people said that they didn’t recognize me. I feel a bit slouchy when I do, but I’ve come to realize that it’s not entirely a bad thing. Never however, when I’ll be meeting with parents or representing the school or our classroom. Same goes for conferences. I feel different with ‘real’ pants and shoes on. I think I probably act differently as well. What you wear to work is a personal choice, my choice is to look more professional than slouchy. Besides, my dress shoes cost a fortune and I’m going to get my money’s worth.

Leave a Reply

