EdcampTulsa Part 2

Posted: January 27, 2015 in Uncategorized

The other day I shared about my recent experience at EdcampTulsa this past Saturday. I focused a lot of that post on our new State Superintendent here in Oklahoma. There are some other great things that happened on Saturday as well.

The first session of the day that I went to was Twitter101. Now, many of you know that I don’t need Twitter101, but instead, I always enjoy helping getting new people on Twitter. Twitter is very powerful for teachers and a great way to get your Personal Learning to help in your life. It’s not just professional development, because there are many things shared that can help you outside of work as well.

I know some of my fellow Edcampers don’t always enjoy getting in there to help, but I really enjoy having the chance to sit down and help people out for they needs that they have for Twitter. It’s a little like how I help students in my own classroom. Each person has their own questions and I have a change to sit down and help them out for where they are in the Twitterverse.

This time I had Wes Fryer and Amy Presley leading the session and I ran around assisting people. Am I addicted to Twitter? Some would say yes, however, some of the things that I learn and share on there is incomparable to my learning elsewhere.

The session that I helped lead in the afternoon was about technology in the math classroom and state assessments. We shared some great apps and websites that help with learning in the classroom. One of the websites that I use is Study Island. It’s a great way to assess if students are fully understanding a concept before you move on to the next topic.

When we discussed state assessments, we started sharing the horror stories of how some students will never pass the assessment. I teach 6th grade and I have students who work below grade level. Each day they come in and work really hard, but they are just not ready for a 6th grade assessment. That is what we have to get the legislation to realize. We need to be looking at the great progress that students make each year and not focus on what they “should know” for a test.

Who thought of this crazy way of assessing anyway? There should be a continuum of standards that we go by (yes, the same we currently have) but instead of giving every 12 year-old the same assessment, they need to be able to show how much they learned in the year. Many grow more than 1 grade level, but cannot show that because they are already behind and therefore set up for failure before they even test. (I need to write a separate post on testing.)

The last session that I attended was Twitter102. I stepped in and assisted Amy Presley as we answered more questions about Twitter. Many from the morning session returned because they had questions and issues arise during the day and just wanted more information. We also talked a lot about lists on Twitter, so I went home and finally created lists on my account and have also been using them this week!

There are always things to learn in the world of education. I know that I may be an Edcamp addict, but there are so many people who have not experienced an Edcamp yet. Most are on Saturdays and I know that teachers may be busy or may look at it as “my time” and don’t want to go. However, you will learn and be able to share so much.

Edcamps are not conferences where you are talked to, but rather have a chance to let your voice be heard and to have discussion about what YOU want to talk about in education.

Please consider attending EdcampOKC at South Moore High School (OK) on Saturday, February 28.

Also for your math teachers, there is OKMathEdcamp on Saturday, March 28 at Jenks Middle School near Tulsa.

Maybe summer is an easier time for you to attend an Edcamp. We have EdcampKS on Friday, June 19 this year at Andover High School.

If you don’t live around the central United States, take a look at the Edcamp website and find one near you to attend. They really are a great way to connect with teachers and to have great discussions.

Please share this page and others with your friends to help encourage educators everywhere to make a bigger difference for our students!

Leave a Reply

