King of #oklaed

Posted: April 5, 2015 in Uncategorized

There was a blog challenge recently about what you would do it you were king of the education system in Oklahoma. It’s taken me awhile to finally sit down and write it. So here ya go . . . .

I don’t want that job. I don’t want to be king. I enjoy the conversations that I have with Joy Hofmeister about education. I love how she takes times to attend edcamps and to listen to her teachers. She wants to make a difference.

However, this post isn’t about her leading the education in our state. This post is about what I would do as king.

As I stated before, I don’t want that job. No matter what you do, everyone will criticize what you do. Thank you Joy for being able to listen to everyone and know how to help as much as possible.

Again, it’s not about her, it’s about me. I guess as king, you don’t have a choice. As king, you are not voted into the position, you’re born into it. . . so I guess I should say what I would do . . .

  1. The competition between schools has to go away. If you’re school is doing really well and students are producing great things, then I’m going to take teachers from you building and have them go to other schools (in and out of your district) to share what you are doing. Not only will you talk about it, but you will also be responsible to keeping in contact with that other school and help lead them to be higher achievers and do great things. Oh, you don’t want to share what you’re doing because you want to keep it a secret? That’s fine, we don’t need you in education then. We need to give all students the same opportunity and promote learning everywhere, not just brag how your students are the best.
  2. School districts will utilize faculty in different ways. Yes, you will have your teachers assigned to building and teaching like we do now. However, if there are teachers doing amazing things, they need to be shared throughout the district. Not just speaking during professional days, but allowed to go in and lead and co-teach with teachers. Again, every student has the right to an equal learning opportunity.
  3. Every school will after school activities. They will be set up in a way to help each school. They will not be required, but they will be fun and not just homework help. They will be ways to learn in a different environment. Why would kids want to stay after school? Well, for starters the school day will only be 5 hours long, so staying another 2 hours won’t be tiring, but rather learning out of the seat.

There are many things that I would like to do as king, but this would be the start. How about you? What would you like to change?

Comments
  1. I completely agree with the sharing of ideas. I am so glad we have a principal who facilitates observation of other teachers in the building, and I would love to have the chance to see what teachers outside of our building are doing. Its so important to share and learn from people who are actually in the classroom all day every day. It means so much more than listening to someone who hasn’t seen the inside of a classroom for a decade.

Leave a Reply

