A Mathematics Book Study

Posted: June 8, 2015 in Uncategorized

brain:mathematicsThis past winter, I led a book study on the NCTM book Principles to Actions. Since then, I’ve been reading How the Brain Learns Mathematics by David A. Sousa. I enjoyed the book so much that I blogged about it here. I also have heard from several math educators that they would like to do another book study . . . so here we are.

I’m thinking that this book would be a great way to visit with others and dive into some more mathematic talks. I’m thinking about having 5 meetings via Google Hangout. Since it is summer, I think that I could do things a little different for a few of the chapters.

Here are the dates that I think would be great to meet to discuss the book. (Please fill out the form below if you are interested.)

  • Tuesday, June 30 – 8:00 pm CDT – Chapter 1: Developing Number Sense and Chapter 2: Learning to Calculate (33 pages)
  • Tuesday, July 14 – 8:00 pm CDT – Chapter 3: Reviewing the Elements of Learning (29 pages)
  • Tuesday, July 28 – possible three times for the three chapters covered (as needed by participants)
    • Chapter 4: Teaching Mathematics to the Preschool and Kindergarten Brain (19 pages)
    • Chapter 5: Teaching Mathematics to the Preadolescent Brain (31 pages)
    • Chapter 6: Teaching Mathematics to the Adolescent Brain (30 pages)
  • Tuesday, August 11 – 8:00 pm CDT – Chapter 7: Recognizing and Addressing Mathematics Difficulties and Chapter 8: Putting it all Together (55 pages)

If you are interested in participating, please fill out the form below.

Comments
  1. Levi Patrick says:

    I love the idea and I’m happy to participate. The current #OKMath Twitter Book Study is on the 5 Practices for Orchestrating Productive Mathematics Discussions. I think it would be great to consider starting the book study after the current one rather than overlapping… just my two cents. Can’t wait!

  2. Jennifer says:

    I love this book! I devoured the first addition, I am curious about what is new in this one.

  3. Connie says:

    Are you going to post instructions on best place to buy the book?

Leave a Reply

