Classroom Design

Posted: July 12, 2015 in Uncategorized

This past week I received my keys and got to see my new classroom. For those who didn’t know, I will be teaching 7th grade math at Stillwater Middle School. I’m excited to having a short 10 minute commute this year!

As I was walking into the building with my principal, we saw the head custodian. She shared that the teacher desk was not in my room and was down in the gym. Once it was emptied, then she would take it back to my room. I told her, “Don’t worry about it. I don’t need it.” She froze, looked at me with a confused look and said, “Are you sure?”

I’m excited to finally not have a teacher desk in my classroom. I’ve wanted to do this in the past, but I needed something to put the computer that is connected to the SmartBoard on. Now I have a separate, smaller desk that already holds the computer. I don’t need anything else to collect piles of paper.

The classroom currently has 32 student desks, but I have already begun working with my principal to have a mix of desks and tables. I feel it’s important for students to have a choice where they want to sit as well as giving me the choice of where to work with students. Some day, I hope to have a few standing desks as well for students to be able to stand and work.

I want students to feel comfortable and excited as they enter my classroom to learn. I want a place for students to know that they are welcome and to share their learning experiences with others.

How are you redesigning your classroom for this next school year? Are you ditching the desk as well?

Comments
  1. Tim Vesco says:

    Great post! I’m also getting rid of my teacher desk. I’m going to be ditching most of the desks in my classroom. I’ve got a few round kitchen tables, a couch, & some lawn chairs. The other day, I had a Donors Choose project funded to purchase yoga mats. Students will be able to use these to sit around the room and collaborate and create. I am keeping a few desks in my classroom, because a student may want to work at one. Maybe it’s just me, but it seems more and more teachers are looking at changing their learning spaces. This is great!

    • joanhagy says:

      I’m not ready to give up the desk just yet. As a 5th grade writing teacher I REALLY need a good space to grade because I try not to take it home. We are practicing conscious discipline this year and I’m excited about creating a safe place for students to regroup and rethink. Also, I’m making a collecting a lot of pillows and even have a small couch. I want my writers to write anywhere and everywhere. I wish there was a way to get rid of the desk altogether!

      • I have had a desk for years and it always gets cluttered with papers. I’ve always graded at student desk/tables, so why bother with the clutter collector anymore? I’ll continue to grade at student areas. Many times I’m checking while students work to give them timely feedback. However, I do teach math and grading writing is completely different.

  2. Eric Johnson says:

    Ditched my desk a couple of years ago and gave the space back to the kids. Have never regretted it. Good for you. Let the kids figure out how they want to use THEIR room.

Leave a Reply

