Classroom Design: Part 2

Posted: July 25, 2015 in Uncategorized

I’m getting ready to start a new school year in a new school. I wrote in my last post about how I am ditching the teacher desk. I wanted to share a little more about how I envision my classroom this school year.

IMG_4509

A panoramic of my classroom shows what I walked into. There are currently 30 student desks in the classroom. I am working with my principal and janitors to remove 12 of those desks and bring in 6 trapezoid tables (which can make 3 hexagons.

You will also see that I have one wall that is all cabinets with a counter top. When you see this, you will realize that I have no need for a teacher desk. Any supplies that I need can be placed along that wall.

Yes, there is a teacher chair, but that is in front of the computer which is sitting on a small desk. That is also more space where I can place a cup of pencils/pens for my use. If you notice, the computer is not next to the Smartboard, which will force me to be up and walking around all the time. I do use a whiteboards quite a bit as well, so I will be utilizing so much of the space with the students.

Screen Shot 2015-07-25 at 11.37.53 AMI have drawn up a small drawing of how would like my classroom set up. However, it’s not drawn to scale and I don’t have my tables yet, so I’m not sure how the tables and desks will fit together. I am also working on trying to get some standing desks/tables for my room as well.

I want to students to have an seating option. I know that not everyone likes a table because movements of others can shake them. I also know that some do not like desks because they are not large enough for them to us the top successfully. Why standing desks? Well, I for one enjoy standing and not just sitting all the time. Also, some students need to move around more often.

So as you can see, there is still a lot that I need to do to be prepared for the next school year. I know I will be ready, but let’s face it, I will change throughout the year. I get tired of seeing the same thing all the time. Arrangements change constantly. As I said, I get bored, but also I like to have the students move around and visit with other classmates as well. If I keep the same arrangement all the time then students get stagnant and sit in the same seats with the same people all the time (just like adults).

I encourage collaboration and I feel that my thoughts of classroom arrangement will help this to start that year.

What are your thoughts about my design? What would you do differently? Have you thought about how you’re designing your classroom this year?

Leave a Reply

