Just A Junkie

Posted: July 31, 2015 in Uncategorized

If you’ve ever met me, you’ve probably seen me in an Edcamp t-shirt, which is possible one of two ways. We were at an Edcamp or I just always wear one. Yes, I really do just wear them for fun.

EdcampOmaha is held in Omaha, Nebraska

EdcampOmaha is held in Omaha, Nebraska

The first Edcamp that I attended was #EdcampKC in November of 2010. I was working with Ginger Lewman at the time and she had heard about this new conference and took a few of us with her. The space was small and we all crowded in. I don’t think Kyle Pace was expecting so many to show up. It was a great day of learning. However, I was still young in teaching and I didn’t go in there with the best thoughts.

EdcampOKC is held in Oklahoma City, Oklahoma

EdcampOKC is held in Oklahoma City, Oklahoma

In 2011, I returned to #EdcampKC on my own. I had a blast! I met so many new people and I was starting to learn what Edcamp was all about. I also had then planned my next Edcamp trip for February of 2012 to #EdcampSTL in St. Louis, MO. That one had me hooked! I made so many connections and started to fully use Twitter.

EdcampOmaha is an Edcamp that I have attended twice. The first time I was able to meet with Brent Catlett and a few of the organizers the day before because I was on my spring break. It was a great way to get to know a few different people and just have fun. I went with them all to see The Hunger Games even though I hadn’t read the book.

EdcampKS has been held in Wichita and Andover, Kansas

EdcampKS has been held in Wichita and Andover, Kansas

After EdcampOmaha I knew that I had to bring the Edcamp unconference style to Kansas. I connected with Dan Krutka and Greg Gorman to create #EdcampKS. Watching the creation of an Edcamp and seeing the growth that it makes is amazing. I’m very excited for what is in store for EdcampKS in the future.

EdcampTulsa is held in Tulsa, Oklahoma

EdcampTulsa is held in Tulsa, Oklahoma

There are a few sessions that I have grown to love over the years. The first session normally at each Edcamp is Twitter101. Now many feel that it gets old always having this session, but there are many educators who still don’t know about the Twitter professional learning secrets. Each time I get to open up that world to new and excited teachers.

EdcampOKSDE and EdcampEOC are held in the  Greater Oklahoma City area

EdcampOKSDE and EdcampEOC are held in the Greater Oklahoma City area

Another exciting session is Rocks vs. Sucks. It gives teachers and administrators a chance to discuss the big topics in education. Listening to other’s views about topics helps you understand more about why teachers do what they do. Take the time to listen and not just be a talker.

I huge reason why I enjoy Edcamps so much is because they are not sit and gets. I do not have to sit and just listen to one person speak about something. Yes, there are times that people are sharing how they use a resource, but you can ask questions while they speak and not just sit in silence.

List of Edcamps I've attended

List of Edcamps I’ve attended

However, many of the sessions are either hands-on learning or round-table discussions. It’s a chance for teachers to connect and share ideas and not just listen to people selling a product.

If you haven’t been to an Edcamp before, please find one soon and attend. You will learn a lot and make great connections. If you’re in Oklahoma, you can look at www.edcampok.org to find the list of Edcamps coming up.

I challenge Laura Gilchrist, Christine Ruder and Toby Brown to share their Edcamp stories.

Comments
  1. Dianna Chamberlain says:

    You need to make plans to add EdcampMagic to that list!

Leave a Reply

