No Teacher Desk

Posted: October 18, 2015 in Uncategorized

If you’ve read through my blog, you know that I have removed the teacher desk from my classroom. Even though I’ve gone nine weeks without, I don’t regret it. I removed it because I rarely sat at it and I always had piles of paper all over it, so I couldn’t really use it.

But I know it’s not for everyone.

My friend Matt Coaty shared the New York Post article, “Principal Doesn’t Want Teacher Sitting – So She Threw Out All the Desks.” I read it and instantly didn’t understand her reasoning. While reading the article, you find out that the chairs were not removed. I’m not sure about you, but I think more people sit in chairs and not on the desk.

I feel bad for the first year teachers who are probably just skirting by with everything they need to do when their desk is just taken from them. That’s not fair to them. They need some way to help them be organized.

Now, before I go on and tell you everything that Donna Connelly has done wrong (in some people’s eyes), I want to share some things that she could do to help the teachers.

  1. Visit with the teachers and discuss why she did what she did. She probably has some great reasons (besides not wanting them to sit down) that she needs to communicate with the staff.
  2. Purchase standing desks for the teachers. If the whole reason is to keep them from sitting, give them the comfort of a standing desk so that they can stay organized in a way that they understand. Here’s a great desk for them to have, that’s even mobile!
  3. Be an understanding administrator and help people change their teaching styles and not just rip the rug (or desk) out from under them. Change is difficult and takes time.

I hope that we can see a story come out later about some great things that Ms. Connelly is doing with her staff. I know principals change schools and staff all the time, but we all need to work together to help make transitions go smooth.

Comments
  1. […] groups have been working this week, I was not sitting at my desk (I don’t have one) ignoring the students while they worked. I sat down with each group and looked at their solid. We […]

Leave a Reply

