Running for Office

Posted: April 12, 2016 in Uncategorized

Now that I have your attention, I would like to announce that I am not running for office.

Yea, I know . . . my title had you thinking otherwise. Well, I just want to share a concern of mine.

First, I have to say that I am in no way against anyone who has announced that they are running for office in the state of Oklahoma. Again, I’m just sharing a concern.

I find it AMAZING to see so many people fed up with the actions of some of the representatives in the state of Oklahoma. How are we seeing that? Well, we have new people running for office. In this case, we have many teachers. According to some sources, there may be 25 or more teachers who are running for House or Senate in our state. How great is that? They want to make a difference for our students!

But that makes me worried.vote-for-me

I’m sure many would agree that if these educators are wanting to leave their classroom to make a difference at the state level, they are already doing amazing things. That means that they are helping so many students become better citizens and helping their schools and communities in ways that one can only imagine!

That’s my concern.

When they get elected (yes, when, not if) schools will be losing some amazing people. Communities will be looking for replacements, that may not be there.

Over the past few years we’ve seen a decline in people wanting to be teachers in Oklahoma because of low pay and many other factors. So when I see the possibility of great teachers leaving the classroom in our state, makes my heart ache a little.

Then I have to remember, that this is temporary and that these amazing people will help change public education in Oklahoma making it a better state to get an education in!

So with that, I want to share Blue Cereal Education’s page with information about candidates running for office in Oklahoma. Please be wise when you go to the polls this November and do NOT just miss your opportunity to make a difference where you live.

Comments
  1. Erin Barnes says:

    Well said.

Leave a Reply

