FAILURE

Posted: April 13, 2016 in Uncategorized

I’m tired of setting up my students to fail.

Now, I know many of you want to argue First Attempt In Learning.

A few may be like, “You’re setting them up to fail?”

Well, in a way I am.

You see, I teach my students skills to help them learn concepts. I also know that my colleagues also teach students to learn concepts.

Then we have testing . . . .

Students can’t use calculators. Well, I’m used to that one. I know many adults who use them as a crutch. (Yes, I see you do 3×4 on there.) So let’s push students to fully understand how to do some concepts.

Please find this distance, but you can’t use a ruler. Alright, that’s fine as well. Use this paper to mark a distance and  . . . .what’s that? . . . . huh? . . . WHAT?!?!?!?!?

That’s right . . .

STUDENT’S CAN’T USE PAPER TO MEASURE DISTANCE ON THEIR STATE ASSESSMENT!

STUDENT’S CAN’T USE PAPER TO TRACE OR COMPARE SHAPES ON THEIR STATE ASSESSMENT!

The paper has to stay on the ground.

WHAT?!?!?!?! You mean actual SKILLS that we have TAUGHT our students and they USE are not ALLOWED?!?!?!

What kind of crap is this?

Oh, and we’re spending HOW MUCH MONEY ON THESE TESTS?!?!?!?!

Ok, I’ll stop talking and plan how to break the news to students tomorrow and then remind them that I love them and hope that they can do their best.

Comments
  1. jmfuchs22 says:

    Hang in there…the kids know you care and THAT will help them do their best.

Leave a Reply

