WATCH OUT (for) RUNNERS

Posted: January 3, 2017 in Uncategorized
bcbfb36d-5304-42b5-ae2b-2e6e278408cb

From a run this past summer.

I woke up this morning with intentions of starting my day out with a run. However, since it was cold, I could hear the north wind, and I didn’t have to work . . . I didn’t go.

I did make it to school to get some work done, but then decided that I really needed to go for a run. So I dressed warm and took off for the park. After 3 miles in 32 degree (Fahrenheit) weather, I made it around Boomer Lake and headed home.

For the longest time I would be a weakling and never run in the cold, but today reminded me how warm it can be while running, even with 15 mile per hour north winds. So I will get up in the morning and run!

When running in the mornings, it’s dark. I run on sidewalks sometimes, but when it’s that dark, you can’t always see the bumps, so I run in the street. Keeping an eye out for cars, I will step up on the sidewalk when they come near. However, the sidewalk is right next to the street and doesn’t even have a real curb . . .

I bring this up because when I got home today I saw on Twitter about an Oklahoma educator who was hit by a car this morning while running. Here’s the news article.

I didn’t know Michael Reid, but when I look through his Twitter feed, I do remember his tweets in the #oklaed chat on Sunday evenings. I also may have sat in an Edcamp session or two over the past few years. We have a big group of connected educators here in Oklahoma, which is partly why it was tough to hear about this loss. May God be with his family (personal and professional) through this time of grieving.

As I was running today I was thinking about writing about my run today, but after hearing about Michael’s death I am thinking about the dangers of running in the dark. Unfortunately, due to individual schedules and the more than 14 hours of no sunlight currently, people run in the dark.

For people driving, please be aware of your surroundings. Put your phone away, especially when it’s dark, while you drive. I see so many out running in the early mornings and late evenings. You are in a large, dangerous machine. If you do not pay attention, maybe you shouldn’t have a license.

It’s not just on the drivers though. Runners, there are several things you can do to help keep you safe.

As I said earlier, I do run on the street. I wear bright colored clothing, but that isn’t always enough. I was almost hit once during the day with the sun out while wearing a bright orange shirt. So in the dark, you may need a light.

I have been wearing Power Armz lately. One on my arm and one on my heel. These work great and even help me see a little better. They are completely worth the $20 each.

For Christmas I received an Energizer Headlight. I haven’t had a change to use it yet (I’ve been on winter break and run during daylight), but I will have it on when I return to my early morning run tomorrow. It’s bright and will help me see where I’m running and others to see me.

One more piece of advice, that I am going to truly take myself is to carry identification with you while you run. I’ll be honest, I often run without it. I need to always have it with me when I run.

To end the post, I want to share many awesome educators who run and motivate me. You can also follow #fitnessedu on Twitter to see all the great educators who run.

Everyone, please be safe when running (or other athletic activities). My thoughts and prayers go out to the family of Michael Reid.

 

*Disclaimer – I was not paid to mention the products above, nor was I given the products in order to share about them. I mentioned the products to share what I use. There are many other products which serve the same purpose.

Leave a Reply

