Do You Think You’re Brave?

Posted: January 10, 2017 in Uncategorized

I’m sitting at home tonight thinking, you need to write something. I couldn’t think of anything. Then I remembered a bookmark I have of The Learning Network. So I chose the topic Do You Think You’re Brave?

The topic starts by sharing about the captain of Costa Concordia who left his ship when it was sinking. Am I here to assess if he were brave? No, I’m here to discuss me.

So, do I think I’m brave?

I believe in aspects I am brave.

When it comes to standing in front of my students each day to teach them . . .yes, I’m brave.

When it comes to standing in front of parents and colleagues sharing my knowledge of mathematics and growing knowledge of education . . .yes, I’m brave.

When running in the dark with my lights, bright colored clothing and awareness . . .yes, I’m brave. (Side note, I was almost hit this morning when a truck was coming toward me. I saw it two blocks away, but at the last minute they swerved to miss me. I was safe without the swerve, but that’s beside the point. Watch where you are driving.)

Am I as brave as others?

Well no. In fact, I’m currently watching President Obama’s Farewell Address. He’s brave. As were President George W. Bush, President Bill Clinton and every President before them. To stand in front of a country to be Commander in Chief is not easy.

But again, this is about me.

So am I brave?

I feel I am brave enough for what I need at the time. When needing to climb on my roof to hang Christmas lights or to paint, I can do so. I haven’t always been brave enough to stand on a roof, but now I’m fine.

I will be brave for what I need for when I need it. I will do what I need to stand up for what I believe in.

So . . . Do You Think You’re Brave?

Leave a Reply

