2017 Challenge

Posted: January 11, 2017 in Uncategorized

When it was time for me to return to school last week, I saw on Twitter the 2017 Challenge. At this point, I wish I could remember who tweeted it, but I can’t. #fail

I took the challenge to my students the first day we returned to school. They loved it (and still love it).

In case you don’t know, the 2017 challenge is to take the digits of 2017 (2, 0, 1 and 7) and using operations, make the numbers 1 to 100.

I placed paper on the board with all of the numbers and challenged them to find them all. When a student found a number, they needed to show me, then they could place their name on the paper. We were to continue (finish) the lesson on Friday, but then we didn’t have school.

Great! So now what do I do?

This week I have been having students continue to work. I have now placed the answers they found on a Google Spreadsheet (below) for them to look at and work on it at home.

Can you find ones they haven’t been able to find yet? Did you challenge your students? if so, how did it go?

Leave a Reply

