Feedback Failure

Posted: February 21, 2017 in Uncategorized

I’ve been reading Hacking Project Based Learning by Ross Cooper and Erin Murphy. I’ll be honest, I’ve been a little slow reading this. However, the latest hack I’ve been reading is a huge slap in the face (in a good way).


Hack number 7 is about feedback. It’s important.

You see, I have students work on a monthly project at home which uses the current information we’re discussing in class in order to complete. What’s he problem? I only grade the final project.

I have students write reflections as part of the project, and I say I am more focused on what they learned and not so much the end product. But is that true?

Reading this hack I’ve realized I assign the project, then grade it. Am I focused on what they are learning? If I were, I’d be checking in and visiting with students about the progress they’re making.

I need to work on getting more feedback throughout the process and not just at the end. How can students put the best into their work if I don’t help them find what their best is?

Time to get back to reading and thinking.

Thank you Ross and Erin for his great book to help me reflect on how to improve my projects.

The end of the chapter really speaks what I’m thinking. In fact, I’ve witnessed it.

Comments
  1. […] reading a blog entry from Random Teacher Thoughts Blog “Feedback Failure”, I started to think of about the two projects going on in class,  Genius Hour and Citizen […]

Leave a Reply

